Nicholas Rule
Principal Investigator

Dr. Rule is Professor of Psychology and Canada Research Chair in Social Perception and Cognition. He completed his Ph.D. in 2010 at Tufts University in Boston under the mentorship of Nalini Ambady. Prior to that, he did his undergraduate studies at Dartmouth College where he worked with Neil Macrae. Dr. Rule has been the recipient of a number of awards, including early career awards from the International Social Cognition Network, the International Academy for Intercultural Research, and the Ministry of Research and Innovation of Ontario, as well as the Sage Young Scholars Award from the Foundation for Personality and Social Psychology. He presently serves as the Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies in the Department of Psychology, and is the Senior Associate Editor at the Journal of Experimental Social Psychology. For more information about Dr. Rule's research interests, please click on the Research link above or browse his Publications.

Laura Tian is a fourth-year PhD student. She received a Bachelor's degree in 2015 from Queen's University. She is interested in how facial attractiveness influences impression formation and interacts with cognitive biases during person perception.
Emily Schwartzman is a first-year PhD student. She completed her undergraduate studies at McGill University and received her Bachelor's degree in 2019. Her research examines how person perception is influenced by intergroup processes, with a particular focus on the LGBTQ+ community.
Molly Sun received her BSc. in Cognitive Systems from the University of British Columbia in 2019. She is broadly interested in the psychological and sociocognitive mechanisms underlying people's perception of others and themselves, particularly as it relates to discrimination and objectification. She is also very concerned about algorithmic bias in AI and other systems.

Prof. Jason Deska
Dr. Ravin Alaei
Prof. Thora Bjornsdottir
Dr. Shelbie Sutherland
Prof. Miranda Giacomin
Dr. Daniel E. Re
Dr. Konstantin O. Tskhay
Prof. John Paul Wilson

Eisha Haroon (Lab Manager)
Josanne Buchanan
Sin Wah (Sabrina) Chan
Wei-Ting (Tim) Chao
Ging (Jean) Chen
Ke Yi (Kelly) Fan
Oghogho (Abigail) Iyekekpolor
Valeria Khudiakova
Jiesi Liu
Mclean (Mac) Morgan
Qi (Kathy) Sun
Jeffrey To
Johny Wang
Jerry An Yu
Rui Xi (Stella) Zhang
Haochuan (Terrence) Zhang